Main Menu

After all these years, a weakling

Started by Hrann, September 02, 2005, 02:19:39 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Hrann

So, I've been mostly out of the game for about 8 or 9 months now, mainly because I was trying out some of the other stuff out there.  I always knew I would come back, and for the last three months I've been logging on from time to time to try.  But I'm starting to think I'm not going to now.

Here's my problem.  I've been playing EQ since release, and my Beastlord since about 10 months after Luclin came out.  I've put a ton of time into Hrann, building him up very slowly since I was never into raiding much.  I was starting to feel decently powerful, with almost 200 AAs, and equipment that was finally a little better than you could buy in the bazaar.  However, when I come back now, I feel so weak.  I feel like I'm almost starting all over again; soloing in DoN is almost too dangerous; if I get two I have to run.  Everybody I used to know has literally twice the hps I have unbuffed.

One of the reasons I've always liked EQ was that you got to continually build your character up.  But now I'm realizing that there are people that can get powerlevelled past my strength in a couple weeks.  After all these years its difficult to come back to that.  Is it just that everyone is raiding now, or has mudflation just really taken hold in the last 10 months?

I guess I'll hang around to see if DoD can catch my interest.  Getting completely crushed by everything lately is just not fun anymore; I'd like to feel somewhat powerful after putting 100s of days of work into my character.

Jkal_Shihar