Main Menu

Parsing methodology

Started by Gutterr, July 21, 2009, 10:48:43 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Gutterr

The DPS posts got me thinking so I went to the test server to work on some parses.  I was only interested in the base damage from my different weapons.  My methodology is as follows:

I clicked off all buffs but my mount   
I used a lvl 85 test dummy
I 30 minute parses
I didn't cast
I didn't have my warder up
I stood in front of the test dummy as I whacked on it.

If my methodology is flawed, please let me know.  This is my first attempt, so I may be missing a crucial component.  I know the arena dummy isn't perfect.  It wasn't my intention to get a true parse against a real world mob, simply to compare weapons.  I did do a quick test on the Riverdale mob referred to elsewhere on these boards.  It died fairly quickly so I set out to the arena.

A quick rundown of the parses are as follows:

Rottrued's Enforcer in MH & Fabled in OH = 783 DPS
Fabled in MH & Rott in OH = 973/974 DPS (I ran two separate 30 min parses)
Fabled in MH & Jagged Alloy Repeato-Shiv in OH = 951 DPS
JARS in MH & Rott in OH = 627 DPS

From what I have read on these boards, the Fabled becomes obsolete with Crystallos weapons. Given this data, is this really the case?  The actual damage from the Rott in the MH was more, but the pet procs more than made up the difference. Granted this is against a test dummy and I didn't use any discs, AAs, or spire.

I normally parse our raid bosses.  We are currently floundering in MMM, but we are farming Rottrued, BMK3, Bimbilicous and some of the easier MMM mobs.  I parsed at 4k DPS for the first time last night on Rottrued, but I normally hit in the 3-3.5k region (had shm, zerker, rogue, mnk in my group).

So I guess my questions are as follows (I'm not a science guy by any stretch of the imagination, but I'm trying to approach this as logically and "scientifically" as possible):