Beastlord Guide, Levels 1-55

Started by DiosT, January 03, 2004, 03:07:52 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

DiosT

Posted by Ghostwise_,

Lvl 1-55 guide to Beastlords
By Ghostwise
Helpers : Boku, Ryessa, Nikatjef

Hullo - my name is Sauryan Furyous, I'm a gator spirit inishut (what dey humans call a Beastlord, cuz dey jealous) and I'm a big mean troll from da swamp.

Da boss asked me to give joo some troll wisdom about dem Beastlords, so here me goes. Most of it has been edited from troll into fancy Qeynos hi soshuty speak.

0/ Preliminary note
This guide is mostly covering the pre-55 Beastlord - since I have no direct experience of the highest levels (Sauryan is my alt). Many aspects appear to change post-60 ; new abilities appear (both AA and spells that strongly increase flexibility), and the Beastlord's tanking ability become quite respectable.

1/ The nature of the Beastlord
I tend to rate EQ classe according to flexibility - it is for me the most important factor, determining the variety of gameplay. I'd rate the Beastlords as reasonably flexible - you usually have enough different things to not to get bored.  However, the Beastlord does one thing best : aggressive melee. Aggressive melee is not tanking, for the Beastlord's damage soaking ability during the early and mid-levels is mediocre ; it's inflicting a steady stream of damage through a great number of attacks and procs, which tend to be both fast and powerful.

Of course, the Beastlord also has the advantages of a pet class - stepping back to cast while the pet remains in melee, spreading the damage between two entities, launching suicide attacks (as delaying tactics or tactic to handle very tough encounters), aggro kiting, etc.